Built in 1228 in Alanya by command of Sultan Alaeddin Kayqubad, Seljuk Shipyard was renovated with support of Ministry of Culture and Tourism. Maritime artifacts of the period are exhibited in the shipyard transformed into an open-air museum. Historical monument located at the east shore of Alanya Castle, is known to be the only intact Seljuk shipyard standing to this day. An inscription serving as the signature of Alaeddin Kayqubad is placed over the entrance gate of the shipyard. Great statesman is known to receive the title “Sultan of Two Seas” after having a shipyard built in Alanya, following Sinop on Black Sea coast.
Walls of the small mosque at the entrance of the monument, functioned as a shipyard until 1960s, are decorated with various inscriptions, illustrations and murals. Research continues to explore when and with what purpose these works were made, discovered by chance during cleaning.
An Ottoman logistic boat with an uncompleted keel, a crane from ancient period, a battering ram, navigation devices and anchors from various periods are exhibited in the shipyard next to rowboats that demonstrate the fishing culture of the region.